Philippe B Returns with 'Ornithologie, la nuit' LP

Philippe B Returns with 'Ornithologie, la nuit' LP
Since 2005, Quebecois songwriter Philippe B has released albums at three-year intervals, and 2014 will be no exception. His latest solo album is called Ornithologie, la nuit and it's due out on April 22 through Bonsound.

The album was produced by the songwriter himself at the Montreal facilities Studio Taxidermie, Studio Victor and the Chapelle St-Louis. A press release notes that the results find Philippe abandoning the classical leanings of his previous work, and he instead juxtaposes wind instruments with female voices (courtesy of Audrey-Michèle Simard and Amélie Mandeville).

A press release describe's the album's concept like this: "The 14 songs of the album describe the course of a protagonist from the shadows to the light. Spread out over the course of one year, Ornithologie, la nuit accompanies the main character on his search for meaning and daily pleasures in order to achieve healing as the year progresses."

That's the album cover above. Scroll past the tracklist below to hear the opening combo of "La complainte du scaphandrier" and "Ornithologie I." The former is a quiet folk number and the latter tune is a restrained piano pop ditty.

The disc can be pre-ordered digitally, on CD or vinyl from Philippe's Bandcamp.

The songwriter will perform at Montreal's Lion d'Or on April 22 and at Quebec City's Le Cercle on May 10.

Ornithologie, la nuit:

1. La complainte du scaphandrier
2. Ornithologie I
3. Biscuit chinois
4. Calorifère
5. Le sommeil des oiseaux
6. Cheveux courts, cheveux longs
7. Alice
8. Nous irons jusqu'au soleil
9. L'année du serpent
10. Ornithologie II
11. Une nuit de la St-Jean sur le Mont Chauve
12. La maison sauvage
13. Tapisserie
14. Lucioles